Thursday, July 10, 2014

Harveys Lake council chooses officers

February 20. 2013 2:36AM
Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

HARVEYS LAKE – The borough council held its 2013 re-organization meeting before a regular council meeting on Tuesday night, selecting its officeholders.

Amy Williams was elected council president. Fran Kopko will continue to serve as vice president. Larry Radel was re-appointed to the planning commission for a three-year term. Radel also will serve on council along with Michelle Boice, Boyd Barber, Thomas Kehler, Ed Kelly and Mayor Clarence Hogan.

Susan Sutton will remain as the borough's secretary and Charles McCormick as solicitor.

In other matters, the tax rate will be fixed at .804 for fiscal year 2013.

The following ordinances have been re-enacted for the year 2013: the occupational privilege tax is set at $10 per year, the 1 percent real estate transfer tax, the $5 per year per capita tax and the 1 percent earned income tax.

The zoning fee will be increased to $40 per year, while the borough garbage fee remains at $195 per year. The contractor's license fee will be reinstated at $125 for 2013. The past two years there had been no fee, but, said Councilwoman Boice, we have been looking for ways to generate revenue … so there is less that has to be put on the homeowners.

The $125 annual fee is to be paid by businesses to operate within the Harveys Lake boundaries.

The next council meeting will be at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 19.

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds