First Posted: 5/8/2014



Ashley Denae Jackson, of Shavertown, has been inducted into the Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) Honor Society at University of the Sciences.

Invitations to join ALD, a national honor society for first-year students, are based on attaining a first-semester academic average of at least 3.50 and ranking in the top 20 percent of the class. This year’s inductees all attained a first-semester academic average above a 3.679.

Jackson is a doctor of pharmacy student.


Jacqueline Chackan, a registered nurse at the State Correctional Institution at Dallas, has been recognized with the Department of Corrections’ outstanding performance award.

Chackan has assisted the psychiatrist and certified registered nurse practitioner by reviewing offenders’ cases on the docket, calling attention to any specific concerns that need to be addressed and clearly explaining treatment to patients.

A graduate of Wilkes-Barre Area Technical School of Practical Nursing, Chackan earned her associates degree in the registered nursing program at Luzerne County Community College. She is also an active volunteer at her church and is a member of the prison’s Crisis Incident Stress Management Team and the Suicide Prevention Team.


Rep. Karen Boback (R-Columbia/Luzerne/Wyoming) received the Distinguished Service Award at the annual Pennsylvania Veterainary Association Reception held May 6 at the Pennsylvania Capitol.

The award is given annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the veterinary and agricultural communities. Boback is a member of the Pennsylvania Farm Bureau, as well as a co-founder and co-chair of the House Agriculture Caucus.



Wyoming Seminary sophomore Samarth Desai, of Shavertown, placed sixth in the Princeton University Spring Moot Court Tournament, one of the largest and most prestigious moot court tournaments in the country and featuring nearly 80 teams from throughout the United States in this year’s competition.

Moot court is a simulation of an appeals court or Supreme Court hearing in which student attorneys prepare and present oral arguments in front of a panel of judges.



Back Mountain residents are among 24 Wilkes University 2014 Doctor of Pharmacy graduates who will pursue post-graduate training across the country.

Gregory Heindel, of Sweet Valley, Hwill pursue post-graduate year-one training in pharmacy practice at Children’s Hospital in Philadelphia.

Sarah Maheady, of Wyoming, will pursue post-graduate year-one training in pharmacy practice at Abington Memorial Hospital in Abington.

Brittny Rule, of Tunkhannock, will pursue a fellowship in pharmaceutical industry at Rutgers University & Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals, Hematology Business Unit in Whippany, N.J.


Jennifer Mary Rutalis, of Dallas, will receive a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Alvernia University’s School of Arts & Sciences. Rutalis studied at the university’s main campus.


Donald Stephens, of Shavertown, and Marie Khoudary, of Dallas, both members of Holy Redeemer High School’s Speech and Debate team, were named finalists in the state championship competition held at Susquehanna University. Over 100 schools and over 700 students competed.



Harold E. Flack II, of Dallas, has been appointed by Governor Tom Corbett to the 12-member Judicial Conduct Board of Pennsylvania. As specified in the Constitution, he will be one of six non-lawyer elector members of the Board. He is a member of the Republican Party and was appointed to a four-year term that will expire on April 17, 2018.

A graduate of Wyoming Seminary Class of 1977, Flack earned a bachelor’s degree from New England College in 1981. He holds six United States Patents relating to security and storm protection products.

In 2001, Flack and his family were named Outstanding Philanthropists of the Year by the Association of Fundraising Professionals. He and his wife, Jean, have been married for 32 years. They have four adult children.


Laura Easton, of Dallas, was one of 27 graduating engineering students and professionals initiated into the Order of the Engineer at the annual Wilkes University Engineering Banquet.

The Order of the Engineer is a code of ethics offered to all Wilkes graduating engineering students.


Several Back Mountain residents have been inducted into the the Luzerne County Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. They are Jacqueline Frigano, Tunkhannock; Ann Charney, Dallas; Caitlin Meehan, Dallas; Kenny Jones, Hunlock Creek; Joy White, Sweet Valley; Kristen Redmond, Sweet Valley.



Andrew Santora, of Dallas, has made the Honor’s List for Franklin & Marshall College’s fall 2013 semester.

A graduatge of Dallas High School, he is a son of Judith H. Santora and Ronald V. Santora.


Wilkes University student Deanna Moore, of Tunkhannock, was honored at the seventh annual Multicultural Awards ceremony at the Henry Student Center on April 23.

A management major and international studies minor, Moore received the Wilkes Global Scholar and Citizen Award for demonstrating high academic achievement and involvement in campus and community activities promoting cross-cultural awareness.



Misericordia University undergraduate and graduate students from the Back Mountain who participated in the Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society induction ceremony are Kimberly Seward, Harveys Lake; Betty Gaia, Dallas; Kimberly Shina, Monroe Township; Jacqueline Pearson, Dallas; Christine Stevens, Dallas; Johnna Evans, Shavertown.

The Center for Adult and Continuing Education at Misericordia University recognized the academic accomplishments of adult learners during an induction ceremony for the Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society.


Back Mountain adult learners inducted into the alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society include Rosalie Allan-Fufaro, Kelli Wincek, Joan Yamrick and Maria Williamson, all of Dallas.

Alpha Sigma Lambda is the honor society for continuing education students. Its aim is to recognize the special achievements of adults who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of home and work.



Four Back Mountain students have enrolled at Lebanon Valley College in anticipation of the upcoming fall semester. They are Frank Hullihen, of Dallas, who is interested in majoring in actuarial science; Kelly Jacobs, of Dallas, who is interested in majoring in actuarial science; Kayla Wanek, of Dallas, who is interested in majoring in music theory; and Julia Gober, of Wyoming, who is interested in majoring in accounting.



The 2013-14 Eric A. & Josephine Walker Award was awarded to Zachary Aciukewicz, of Trucksville, a student at Penn State/Wilkes-Barre campus.

The purpose of this award is to recognize the Commonwealth Campus student whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship have been directed into programs and services that have positively influenced fellow students and have contributed to the prestige and well being of their campus and to the reputation of the university as a whole.

Aciukewicz has served on the campus’ Student Government Association as a club representative, on the Career Services Mentorship Program and a USCAA Academic All American. He has also served as a member of Business Club for two years. He is a Business major with an option in Marketing and Management.


Erin Lehman, of Dallas, was awarded an associate degree in Cardiac Sonography during the 120th commencement ceremony of Lackawanna College held May 17.

comments powered by Disqus