WVW Middle School holds annual dodge ball tournament

March 20, 2013

The Wyoming Valley West Middle School held its annual dodge ball tournament on Feb. 27. Students in grades 6-8 participated in the double-elimination tournament with 16 teams. Proceeds benefited the school’s Knowbull Anti-Bullying Program. The championship, first-place trophies were awarded to team Newtown, which was named to commemorate the school shooting tragedy in Newtown, Conn. Winning team members, from left, are Sulaiman Ismail, Elizabeth Burkhardt, Gage Nudo, Austin Sienkiewicz, Patrick Kasson, Mercedes Jasterzenski, Mandi Zawadzki and Morgan Klosko.