Last updated: September 25. 2013 5:40PM - 560 Views
Associated Press



U.S. astronaut Michael Hopkins, Russian cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy, crew members of the mission to the International Space Station, ISS, speak with their familys prior the launch of Soyuz-FG  rocket at the Russian leased Baikonur cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013.  (AP Photo/Dmitry Lovetsky, Pool)
U.S. astronaut Michael Hopkins, Russian cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy, crew members of the mission to the International Space Station, ISS, speak with their familys prior the launch of Soyuz-FG rocket at the Russian leased Baikonur cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013. (AP Photo/Dmitry Lovetsky, Pool)
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

(AP) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russians and an American has lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome, soaring into the night sky for a six-hour trip to the International Space Station.


Seated inside the cramped capsule were NASA's Michael Hopkins and Russian cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergei Ryazansky, who are to orbit the Earth four times before docking at the orbiting outpost, where they will spend six months conducting a variety of experiments.


Live coverage provided by NASA TV showed the launch went off as scheduled shortly before 1 a.m. Moscow time on Thursday (2100GMT, 5 p.m. EDT Wednesday) at the cosmodrome, which Russia leases in Kazakhstan.


Associated Press
Comments
comments powered by Disqus


Featured Businesses


Poll



Mortgage Minute