Last updated: March 14. 2013 2:37PM - 458 Views
Associated Press

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

(AP) The Scripps Howard Foundation on Thursday announced winners of its national journalism awards, including in a new category for digital innovation.

The honors recognize excellence in 15 categories for work done in 2012. Awards totaling $175,000 are to be presented May 9 during a dinner in Naples, Fla. Awards also recognize excellence in administration and teaching among college-level communication educators.

The winners:

Investigative reporting: Spencer S. Hsu, The Washington Post, will receive the $15,000 Ursula and Gilbert Farfel Prize, for a series about the Justice Department's use of flawed data in more than 20,000 convictions.

Distinguished service to the First Amendment: The Wall Street Journal will receive $10,000 and the Edward Willis Scripps Award for a project on secretive ways personal information is tracked and used by corporate data-gatherers and government trackers.

Public service reporting: Patricia Callahan, Sam Roe and Michael Hawthorne, The Chicago Tribune, will receive $10,000 and the Roy W. Howard Award for a series that spurred congressional hearings and an EPA investigation by exposing how the chemical and tobacco industries waged a deceptive, decades-long campaign to promote use of flame-retardant furniture.

Human interest storytelling: Michael M. Phillips, The Wall Street Journal, will receive $10,000 and the Ernie Pyle Award for chronicling America's newest post-war generation and how Iraq and Afghanistan have marked the nation's psyche.

Breaking news: The Denver Post will receive $10,000 and a trophy for its coverage of the Aurora, Colo., theater shooting that left 12 people dead and 58 injured.

Digital innovation: The New York Times will receive $10,000 and a trophy for a portfolio of work that included "Snow Fall," which chronicled the harrowing story of 16 expert skiers caught in an avalanche.

Television/cable in-depth local coverage: KMGH-TV in Denver will receive $10,000 and the Jack R. Howard Award for uncovering governmental mismanagement of a wildfire that took three lives and destroyed more than 20 homes.

Television/cable in-depth national and international coverage: John Carlos Frey, John Larson and Brian Epstein of the PBS newsmagazine "Need to Know" and The Investigative Fund at The Nation Institute will receive $10,000 and the Jack R. Howard Award for a collaboration that documented abuses by the U.S. Border Patrol and led members of Congress to call for an internal review.

Radio in-depth coverage: Robert Wildeboer and Cate Cahan, WBEZ, Chicago Public Media, will receive $10,000 and the Jack R. Howard Award for a series about excessive phone charges for inmates at Cook County Jail that led to a 75 percent rate reduction.

Community journalism: Brandon Stahl, the News Tribune in Duluth, Minn., will receive $10,000 for the series "Methadone: A Costly Fix," which prompted calls for statewide reform in the treatment of drug addiction.

Environmental reporting: Kenneth R. Weiss and Rick Loomis, the Los Angeles Times, will receive $10,000 and the Edward J. Meeman Award for a five-part series on the questions: "Can we live sustainably on this planet and for how long?"

Business/economics reporting: Lou Kilzer, Andrew Conte and Jim Wilhelm, the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, will receive $10,000 and the William Brewster Styles Award for a series demonstrating how almost anyone can set up an offshore account and create a shell company.

Editorial writing: Tim Nickens, Tampa Bay Times, will receive $10,000 and the Walker Stone Award for editorials on issues ranging from voter suppression to public health.

Commentary: James Carroll, The Boston Globe, will receive $10,000 for columns that brought historical perspective to 2012's headline news.

Photojournalism: Lisa Krantz, San Antonio Express-News, will receive $10,000 for a portfolio offering diversity of topic and approach, from rural Texas to the national political stage, and a mother's love for her soldier-son who was severely injured in Afghanistan.

Journalism and mass communication administrator of the year: Tim Gleason, dean, School of Journalism and Communication at the University of Oregon, will receive $10,000 and the Charles E. Scripps Award.

Journalism and mass communication teacher of the year: Jennifer George-Palilonis, associate professor, Department of Journalism, Ball State University, Muncie, Ind., will receive $10,000 and the Charles E. Scripps Award.

Associated Press
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com