Last updated: August 08. 2013 5:27PM - 1230 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

20 YEARS AGO - 1993

A Challenge to White Water Rafting on the Lehigh River was recently provided to Boy Scout Troop 281, Dallas. The scouts maneuvered through 14 miles of rapids. Participants included Eric Pimm, Joe Lech, Matt Kutish, Dave Kowalik, Danny Wasserott, Jarod Ambrusino, Rich Sylvia, Eric St. Clair, Corey Brinton, Charles Wasserott V, Dave Kowalek, Lou Sapp, Justin Kerr, Jarod Dukas and Ben Sappe.

The Lake Silkworth Area Lions met recently at the Red Rooster Restaurant for installation of officers and Ladies’ Night. New officers are: Walt Lobacz, president; George Pavlick, first vice president; Kelvin Swanger, second vice president; John Feher, third vice president; Tony Stefanowicz, secretary; and Wayne Pettit, treasurer.

Graduate exercises were recently held at Walsh Auditorium of College Misericordia of Kindergarten students of Little People Day School of Dallas. Graduates are: Bradley Coslett, Ruth Davis, Jessica Parsons, Eric Sebastian, Rashir Wested, Cassie Deyo, Cruz Olivarez, Benjamin Rother, Daniel Drury, Kelly Corbett, Colin Baird, Andrew Hiller, Steven Goode, Joseph Stelma III, Shane Bealla and Louis Abod.

30 YEARS AGO - 1983

Several young swimmers at the Irem Temple Pool participated in the Red Cross Swim-A-Cross event, sponsored by the Wyoming Valley Chapter, American Red Cross. Participants included Jeff Straitiff, Sean Brady, Jane Kilduff, Kinsy Weyman, Anna Reese, Liza DeWitt, Bill Jones, Jayle Devine, Pat Kilduff and Lynn Kilduff.

John Zaleskas of Harveys Lake has been selected to fill the position of principal at Lake Lehman Senior High School which became vacant upon the death of former principal, James Nicholas. Zaleskas has been with the district for 30 years and, as assistant principal, was on hand to welcome Nicholas eight years ago. Zaleskas passed up the position at that time, preferring to serve in the capacity of assistant.

The Clown Unit of Irem Temple A.A.O.N.M.S., Wilkes-Barre, is hosting a “Swim and Swing Party” in the swimming pool and on the pavilion at Irem Temple Country Club in Dallas. Chairman of the affair is James Scouton. The following people will serve on the committee: Jim and Janet Scouton, Hugh and Arlene Williams, Wilbur and Pam Thomas, Leo and Peg Fedor, Wilbur and Judy Knorr, Gordon and Marilyn Dussinger, and Fred and Betty Diettrich.

40 YEARS AGO - 1973

The National Rifle Association of America announced that William H. Hocker Jr., Dallas, competed in the 1973 National Smallbore Rifle Prone (.22 caliber) Championships held last week

The East Dallas Teeners are champions of their league. Members of the championship team are: Charles Eckman, Chris Kaye, Ron Andes, Jonathan Davis, Earl Lozier, Joe Sims, James Searfoss, Robert Crawford, Andrew Regan, Greg Steele and David Thomas.

Mrs. Henry Zbiek is general chairman of a farmer dance, sponsored by the Lake-Lehman Band Sponsors, which will be held on August 31 at the Jackson Township Fire Hall. Mrs. Hugh Dockery is in charge of tickets.

50 YEARS AGO - 1963

Bond Awards for outstanding scholarship in English composition were awarded recently to Alana Matter and Judith Ann Crispell by Dallas Lions Club at a dinner meeting held at Irem Temple Country Club.

Members of the Frances Slocum Society, Children of the American Revolution, enjoyed their annual picnic meeting at the summer home of Dr. and Mrs. Carlton Davies at Mehoopany. Members attending were: Patricia Debby, Susan Rogers, Lewis Rogers IV, Linda and Diane Davies, Nancy Coleman, Frank Weiss, Helen McLlellan, Jeffie Flack and Jim Rosenbluth.

Recipient of an Athletic Scholarship to King’s College is Ronald Lee Fitzer, son of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Fitzer, Trucksville.

60 YEARS AGO - 1953

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Price, Center Hill Road, had a narrow escape Sunday morning on their way home from church when their car skidded, struck the curb across the highway at the big bend near Luzerne, and came to a stop on a large boulder with the right side crushed in. State troopers gave it as their opinion that a prolonged dry spell had allowed engine grease to accumulate on the highway, and the gentle drizzle floated it, making a slick dangerous to traffic.

Some of the women who will exhibit paintings at Lehman Flower Show August 15 are members of a group who have been studying for several years in a studio in Wilkes-Barre. A number of Back Mountain women are among the membership. They are: Mrs. Bert Bryant, Meeker; Mrs. Clarence Laidler, Mrs. Fred Howell, Mrs. Frank Werner, Shavertown; Mrs. T.M.B. Hicks, Dallas; Mrs. Asa N. Casterline, Carverton Road.

70 YEARS AGO - 1943

James Huston, Jr., of Norton Avenue, was elected Saturday to the Order of the Arrow, an honorary society of the Boy Scouts at Camp Acahela, where he is spending two weeks.

George Armitage, former Alderson postmaster, holds the medal for lake trout caught from Harveys Lake this season. Two caught last week averaged 6 ½ pounds each. Three weeks ago Mr. Armitage caught one weighing 10 ½ pounds.

The Dallas Post has been in existence for 124 years. Information for “Only Yesterday” is taken from back issues of the newspaper and is reprinted here exactly as it first appeared.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com