Last updated: February 16. 2014 11:45PM - 2895 Views
The Times Leader staff

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

To the victors go the spoils.

The Wyoming Valley Conference girls basketball coaches selected their All-Star teams Sunday, and not suprisingly, those selections were front-loaded with coaches and players who took their teams to the top of each division.

Holy Redeemer was unbeatable while winning WVC Division II and almost untouchable while filling the top spots on that division’s all-star selections. Royals all-everything forward Alexis Lewis was named most valuable player and Chris Parker was chosen as coach of the year after turning the Royals into a picture of perfection during a 13-0 league season. Redeemer’s point guard Lydia Lawson and forward Rebecca Prociak joined Lewis on the first team, while fellow Royals forward Alyssa Platko was a second team selection.

Meyers’ dominant inside force Quieterriua Gross and Lake-Lehman’s forceful scorer Cayle Spencer were named as Division II’s co-players of the year.

Division I’s player of the year was an obvious choice, as Crestwood’s Maddie Ritsick not only led the division in scoring with more than 20 points per game, she led the Comets to the division championship. Joining her on the first team was her fellow 6-foot forward Rebecca Rutkowski, who dominated the boards all season for Crestwood. Crestwood’s first-year Crestwood coach Pat Brogan — who took the Comets from a handful of teams always threatening for a division I title to the very top this season — was selected as coach of the year.

The Comets went 12-2 this season, and Alyssa Sitch had a bunch to do with both those defeats. Hazleton Area’s point guard dynamo was chosen as the Division I player of the year after averaging 19 points and drilling 66 three-point goals on the season. Pittston Area, which finished runner-up to Crestwood at 13-3, placed four players among Division I’s three tiers of all-stars, including Eastin Ashby and Liz Waleski as first-teamers.

Haylee Bobos and Asdone Hooper teamed up to lead Hanover Area’s surge to the Division III title, and they were selected as that division’s co-most valuable players. Hanover Area’s Vic Kopko was named the Division III coach of the year.


Division I

First Team

Eastin Ashby, Pittston Area, Sr.; Katy Comitz, Dallas, Sr.; x-Maddie Ritsick, Crestwood, Soph.; Rebecca Rutkowski, Crestwood, Sr.; Taylor Montana, Berwick, Soph.; y-Alyssa Sitch, Hazleton Area, Sr.; Liz Waleski, Pittston Area, Jr.

Second Team

Allie Barber, Pittston Area, Jr.; Maury Cronauer, Crestwood, Sr.; Maggie Michael, Dallas, Sr.; Cheyenne Reese, Valley West, Sr.; Mackenzie Yori, Hazleton Area, Soph.

Third Team

Megan Kane, Valley West, Jr.; Sam Missal, Dallas, Sr.; Jackie Rabender, Pittston Area, Sr.; Marissa Ross, Coughlin, Sr.; Alexis Steeber, Berwick, Jr.; Lexi Wolk, Hazleton Area, Jr.

Division II

First Team

Salimah Biggs, Meyers, Jr.; y-Quieterriua Gross, Meyers, Sr.; Lydia Lawson, Holy Redeemer, Soph.; x-Alexis Lewis, Holy Redeemer, Soph.; Rebecca Prociak, Holy Redeemer, Soph.; Emily Sutton, Lake-Lehman, Sr.; y-Cayle Spencer, Lake-Lehman, Jr.; Deanna Thomas, Nanticoke, Jr.

Second Team

Quinniea Gross, Meyers, Sr.; Heidi Kile, Nanticoke, Sr.; Riley Klepaldo, Nanticoke, Fr.; Alyssa Platko, Holy Redeemer, Sr.; Danae Sutliff, Lake-Lehman, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Sara Flannley, Holy Redeemer, Soph.; Gianna Roberts, Nanticoke, Soph.; Gianna Skaff, Meyers, Fr.; Alana Wilson, Holy Redeemer, Jr.; Emily Wolfgang, Wyoming Area, Jr.

Division III

First Team

x-Haylee Bobos, Hanover Area, Soph.; x-Asdone Hooper, Hanover Area, Soph.; Maya Kornfeld, Wyoming Sem, Fr.; Majeedah Nealy, GAR, Soph.; Brea Seabrook, GAR, Sr.; Gabbie Volpetti, Wyoming Sem, Jr.; Kelsey Yustat, Northwest, Soph.

Second Team

Emily Gabriel, Wyoming Sem, Jr.; Amber Grohowski, Hanover Area, Jr.; Mickie Kaminski, Hanover Area, Jr.; Maria Skrepenak, GAR, Soph.; Rachel Stanziola, MMI Prep, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Paige Allen, Wyoming Sem, Fr.; Shayla DiPasquale, Northwest, Fr.; Liz Gurzynski, Northwest, Soph.; Marissa Keegan, Hanover Area, Sr.; Britney Miller, Hanover Area, Sr.; Bre Mosier, GAR, Sr.; Jordyn Rickrode, Wyoming Sem, Jr.; Bailey Taylor, Northwest, Jr.; Aganna Warren, GAR, Jr.

x-Most Valuable Player; y-Player of the Year

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com