Last updated: June 13. 2014 11:03PM - 2343 Views
By - jerzar@timesleader.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Wyoming Valley Conference softball coaches met earlier this week to select their all-stars for all three divisions.

In Division 1, Hazleton Area outfielder Abby Sachse and pitcher Celine Podlesney were chosen as co-MVPs. Coughlin outfielder Marissa Ross was picked as the Player of the Year.

Berwick infielder Abbey Remley was chosen as the Division 2 MVP. Tunkhannock pitcher Erin Smith was chosen the Player of the Year.

In Division 3, Holy Redeemer catcher Chelsea Skrepenak was picked as the MVP. There was no Player of the Year.

Here are the coaches selections. The Times Leader will choose an All-WVC team at a later date that will include players from all three divisions.


First team: Coughlin - Liz Ellsworth and Marissa Ross; Crestwood - Colleen Borum; Hazleton Area - Hope Kinney, Celine Podlesney, Abby Sachse, Maria Trivelpiece, Lexi Wolk and MacKenzie Yori; Nanticoke - Jenna Lipowski, Leandra Ramos and Rachel Roccograndi; Pittston Area - Lauren Dragon; Wyoming Valley West - Leanne Dellarte, Danielle Grega and Audi Welles.

Second team: Coughlin - Samantha Conway, Keighlyn Oliver and Julie Suchocki; Crestwood - Ashley Olenginski; Hazleton Area - Mikaela Browdy, Katie Johnson and Samantha Valera; Nanticoke - Kelsey Rinehamer and Kara Voyton; Pittston Area - Abbey Bradigan and Alyssa Talerico; Wyoming Valley West - Colleen Cwalina, Sarah Fugate, Kasen Heim, Megan Kane and Chloe Ruckle.


First team: Berwick - Sara Berlin, Abbey Favata, Moriah Lynn, Abbey Remley and Kylene Welsh; Dallas - Katy Comitz, Taylor Kelley, Samantha Missal; Tunkhannock - Molly Hampsey, Taylor Hegedty, Traci Kromko and Erin Smith; Wyoming Area - Bree Bednarski, Nicole Turner and Emily Wolfgang.

Second team: Berwick - Cassondra Dianese and Courtney Hummel; Dallas - Sydney Kern, Maddie Perez and Kylee Saba; Tunkhannock - Ryleigh Fitch, Michelle Goodwin, Ashley Knott and Lindsey Kwaitkowski; Wyoming Area - Drew Bednarski, Nicole Cumbo, Sarah Coolbaugh, Adrienne Przybyla and Kat Sokirka.

Honorable mention: Berwick - Ashton Mensinger and Shea Petty; Dallas - Abby Berger, Maddie Kelley, Kelly Snyder and Sadie Trudgen; Lake-Lehman - Brit Meeker and Lacey Miller; Tunkhannock - Karlie Bulford and Kailey Reposa; Wyoming Area - Lindsay Carey and Julez DeAngelo.


First team: GAR - Mikayla Hoskins; Hanover Area - Haylee Bobos and Michelle McNair; Holy Redeemer - Julie Kosik, Jen Ringsdorf, Chelsea Skrepenak and Kaya Swanek; Meyers - Sarah McCann and Leah Merrick; Northwest -Olivia McCorkel, Jaden Perillo and Kelsey Yustat; Wyoming Seminary - Mackenzie Gagliardi.

Second team: Hanover Area - Mary Kate Penczkowski; Holy Redeemer - Kristen Coffay, Lydia Lawson, Olivia Mennig and Victoria Steinetz; Meyers - Brittany Delcastillo, Bri DiMaggio, Sarah Smith and Gina Strillacci; MMI Prep - Kristen Purcell; Northwest - Emily Buerger, Liz Gurzynski and Maggie Murphy.

Senior all-star game set

The annual Dallas Kiwanis Senior All-Star Game will be played at 6 p.m. Monday at the Back Mountain Little League field.

The East team will be: Samantha Conway, Liz Ellsworth, Keighlyn Oliver, Marissa Ross and Julie Suchocki, Coughlin; Alyssa Davies, Crestwood; Caitlyn Bogart, Brittany McNair and Emily Rinehimer, Hanover Area; Kaitlyn Kaluzny and Julie Kosik, Holy Redeemer; Bri DiMaggio, Sarah McCann and Leah Merrick, Meyers; Kristen Purcell, MMI Prep; Kristin Bomboy, Emily Buerger, Hailey Chapin, Olivia McCorkel, Susie Mendegro and Jaden Perillo, Northwest; and Alyssa Talerico, Pittston Area.

The team will be run by the coaching staffs of Holy Redeemer and Meyers. GAR and Hazleton Area are also part of the East, but had no seniors. Nanticoke won’t participate due to graduation.

The West team will be: Sara Berlin, Cassondra Dianese and Ashton Mensinger, Berwick; Abby Burger, Katy Comitz, Taylor Kelley and Samantha Missal, Dallas; Brit Meeker and Lacey Miller, Lake-Lehman; Ryleigh Fitch, Ashley Knott and Samantha Reposa, Tunkhannock; Drew Bednarski, Lindsay Carey, Nicole Cumbo, Kat Sokirka and Nicole Turner, Wyoming Area; Megan Bresnahan, Wyoming Seminary; Leanne Dellarte and Danielle Grega, Wyoming Valley West.

The team will be under the direction of the Berwick coaching staff.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com