Last updated: December 04. 2013 11:37PM - 1717 Views
SUSAN BETTINGER Times Leader Correspondent

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

NANTICOKE — The Greater Nanticoke Area School Board held its re-organization meeting Tuesday night with District Judge Donald Whittaker swearing in Wendy Kotsko-Wiaterowski and Megan Tennesen as its newest members.

The two replace Cindy Donlin and Jeff Kozlofski. Chet Beggs, Robert Raineri and Frank Shepanski Jr. remain as board members, along with Ryan Verazin, president; Ken James, vice president; Gary Smith, treasurer, and Tony Prushinski, secretary.

Vito DeLuca was re-appointed as the board’s solicitor from December 2013 to December 2014 at an annual salary of $20,000 per year.

During the regular school board meeting, Superintendent Anthony Perrone announced the senior high school’s annual Christmas drive is in process and “any donations would be appreciated.”

Perrone added that many of the district’s students are from low-income households, and there is a great need for donations from the community.

Board member Chet Beggs highlighted the school’s Nov. 25 blood drive that was held in conjunction with Geisinger. Beggs said 72 students, faculty members and staff donated a total of 58 units of blood. The blood will be used to treat 174 sick or injured individuals.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com