Local players earn WVC all-star nods

Last updated: March 01. 2014 12:22PM - 1490 Views
By - nwagner@timesleader.com

Pittston Area's Eastin Ashby goes in for two points in a game earlier this season. Ashby, along with Liz Waleski, was named to the WVC Coaches All-Star first team.
Pittston Area's Eastin Ashby goes in for two points in a game earlier this season. Ashby, along with Liz Waleski, was named to the WVC Coaches All-Star first team.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

As Pittston Area’s season continues into the District 2 playoffs and beyond, the Wyoming Valley Conference recently selected its 2014 Coaches All-Stars.

The coaches also selected first-team and second-team all-stars and honorable mentions.

On the boys side, Pittston Area senior Mason Gross earned his second straight selection to the Division 1 first team. Tyler McGarry, Pittston Area’s top swing man, was selected to the second team. Senior Hassan Maxwell earned an honorable mention in Division 1.

A bright spot in Wyoming Area’s 0-23 season was junior do-it-all player Jeremy Zezza. He was selected to the Division 2 second team. Teammate Evan Musto was an honorable mention.

And while the boys put up impressive marks on the all-star team, Kathy Healey’s girls team had just as much recognition in the selection.

On the first team in Division 1 was hot-shooting senior guard Eastin Ashby. Pittston Area’s Liz Waleski picked up a first-team selection as a junior.

Athletic junior Allie Barber was named to the second team, while senior Jackie Rabender got a third-team selection. For Wyoming Area, junior Emily Wolfgang was an honorable mention in Division 2.

Senior All-Star

rosters set

The coaches selected the senior boys to play in the 45th Annual Dr. George P. Moses Senior All-Star Classic set for 8 p.m. Friday, April 4, at Holy Redeemer High School. The girls game will start at 6:30 p.m.

The teams weren’t split up along geographical lines as in the past to make for a more competitive game. Team names haven’t been selected.

Holy Redeemer’s Paul Guido and Lake-Lehman’s Brian Cutter will coach one team. Players on that team will be: Mike Boutanos, John Kane, Mike Prociak, Holy Redeemer; Pete Borum, Adam Dizbon, Cody Paraschak, Lake-Lehman; Isaiah Francis, Jahlil Harvey, James Holmes, GAR; Larry Anderscavage, Jamie Calloway, Evan McCue, Mike Sands; Wyoming Valley West; Mike Malshefski, Tyler Myers, Nanticoke; Chad DeBona, Dallas; Darik Johnson, Coughlin; Brad Sedor, Wyoming Seminary.

Hanover Area’s Steve Harnischfeger and Northwest’s Jerry Blazick will coach the other team. Their players are: Ronnie Moreno, Hanover Area; Charlie Margelevicz, Arlo Mauer, Northwest; Dominic Pittman, Tyriek Steward, Tyon Thomas, Meyers; Luke Casey, Brady Gallagher, Chris Fazzini, Crestwood; Brett Barron, Sal Biasi, Jon Fogarty, Kyle Karmonick, Hazleton Area; Mason Gross, Hassan Maxwell, Pittston Area; Charlie Karchner, R.J. Kupsho, MMI Prep; Matt Dalo, Berwick; Sean Soltysiak, Tunkhannock.

NOTE: The Sunday Dispatch has not received information on the girls all-star game.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com