Last updated: July 10. 2013 1:19AM - 1728 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

KINGSTON — Daniel Wiedl recorded three hits while Dominic DeLuca and F.J. Braccini added two hits apiece as West Pittston defeated Kingston/Forty Fort 18-8 in the elimination bracket finals of the District 31 Little League 10-11 baseball tournament on Tuesday.

Braccini and Derek Ambrosino combined for the win for West Pittston, which will need to defeat unbeaten Back Mountain American twice. The teams meet at 6 p.m. Thursday at Back Mountain and, if necessary, again at 2 p.m. Saturday at West Pittston.

Alex Jaworski went 4-for-4 for Kingston/Forty Fort, while Rocco Barchi ripped a two-run homer in the loss.

McKenna Dolan chipped in two hits for Kingston/Forty Fort.


South Wilkes-Barre 7, Hanover 3

David Kasper laced a triple and Jacob Ostrowski ripped a double as South Wilkes-Barre topped Hanover in the elimination bracket finals.

South Wilkes-Barre will play at 6 p.m. Thursday at unbeaten Mountain Top. Another game, if needed, will be played at 2 p.m. Saturday at South Wilkes-Barre.

Luke Bottger earned the victory on the mound, while Ryan Casey chipped in the save.

Casey, Bottger, Joey Polanowski and Alex Sliker each had singles for South Wilkes-Barre.

Hunter Thompson led Hanover with a single and a double.


West Side 4, Wilkes-Barre 3

Nick Gushka ripped a double and batted in three runs to lead West Side to a win over Wilkes-Barre.

Ryan Kaslavage earned the victory on the mound, while Marty Michaels recorded the save, allowing no hits and no runs in 2.1 innings of work.

Matt DeMarco pitched a complete game, allowing one hit and four runs while striking out three in the loss.

C.J. Szafran added one hit and two RBI for Wilkes-Barre.

West Side`AB`R`H`BI`2B`3B`HR

Cory Lescavage ss`4`1`0`0`0`0`0

Nick Gushka 2b`4`0`1`3`1`0`0

Jeremy Zezza 3b`4`0`0`0`0`0`0

Marty Michaels cf`4`0`0`1`0`0`0

Ryan Kaslavage p`4`0`0`0`0`0`0

Kyle Charney 1b`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Evan Musto c`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Carter Kusakavitch rf`3`2`0`0`0`0`0

Dom Forlenza lf`3`1`0`0`0`0`0



John Yurkoski 2b`4`1`2`0`0`0`0

Nick Preston c`2`0`0`0`0`0`0

Matt DeMarco p`4`2`1`0`0`0`0

C.J. Szafran ss`4`0`1`2`0`0`0

Eric Shorts lf`2`0`0`0`0`0`0

Nick Zarola lf`2`0`1`1`0`0

John Zionce cf`4`0`1`0`0`0`0

Sean-Paul Williamson 3b`3`0`1`0`1`0`0

Wil Amesbury 1b`3`0`1`0`0`0`0

Jason Hoggarth rf`3`0`0`0`0`0`0


West Side`100`300`0`—`4


West Side`IP`H`R`ER`BB`SO

Kaslavage (W)`4.2`8`3`3`1`1

Michaels (S)`2.1`0`0`0`1`2


DeMarco (L)`7.0`1`4`4`8`3

Plains 5, Nanticoke 4

Adam Giovanelli went the distance and Plains struck for four runs in the fourth to pull out the road win.

Giovanelli struck out seven for the win. Dave Parsnik, Jim Graziosi and Christian Rivera each had two hits for Plains.

Zach Kollar went 2-for-4 with a triple and an RBI to top Nanticoke.


Dave Parsnik rf`4`0`2`0`0`0`0

Felix Mascelli ss`2`0`1`1`0`0`0

Adam Giovanelli p`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Mike Delaney dh`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Jim Graziosi cf`3`1`2`0`0`0`0

Mike Carey lf`3`1`0`0`0`0`0

R.J. Kenzakoski 1b`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Sam Andrews 3b`3`1`1`1`0`0`0

Christian Rivera 2b`3`2`2`1`0`0`0

Brandon Butry c`3`0`1`1`0`0`0



Zach Kollar ss`4`0`2`1`0`1`0

Christian Pack 2b`4`0`1`0`0`0`0

Mickey Ferrence rf-p`3`1`1`0`0`0`0

Nick Deno p`2`0`1`0`1`0`0

Kevin Volkel rf`1`0`1`0`1`0`0

John Wickiser cf-p`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Matt Kuhl cf`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Mike Blazaskie dh`4`0`0`0`0`0`0

Mike Bugonowicz 1b-p`3`1`2`1`0`0`0

Bob Kinney pr`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Morgan Higgs 3b`3`1`1`0`0`0`0

Jack Windt 3b`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Joe Yudichak c`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Jeff Jezewski lf`2`1`0`0`0`0`0

Bob Briggs lf`1`0`0`0`0`0`0





Giovanelli (W)`7.0`9`4`3`2`7



Wickiser (L)`2.0`7`5`5`0`1



Tunkhannock 6, Mountain Post A 1

Lance Sherry earned the victory, allowing one hit and no runs in five innings of work, and compiled a triple, two RBI and two runs on offense to lead Tunkhannock to a victory over Mountain Post-A.

Ty Weiss added two hits, including a double, and two RBI, while Josh McClain and Jordan Faux chipped in two hits apiece.

Elliott Snyder had a double for Mountain Post-A in the loss.


Lance Sherry p`3`2`1`2`0`1`0

Sean Soltysiak ss`4`0`1`1`0`0`0

Ty Weiss cf`4`0`2`2`1`0`0

Josh McClain 3b`3`1`2`0`0`0`0

Race Sick c`4`0`0`1`0`0`0

Ricky Clark rf`4`0`1`0`0`0`0

Ryan Weiss lf`3`1`0`0`0`0`0

Aaron Holton 1b`3`1`0`0`0`0`0

Jordan Faux 2b`2`1`2`0`0`0`0


Mountain Post-A`AB`R`H`BI`2B`3B`HR

Elliott Snyder ss`4`0`1`0`1`0`0

Drew Munisteri 2b`1`0`0`0`0`0`0

Tom Goyne lf`4`0`0`0`0`0`0

Curt Yenchik c`1`0`0`0`0`0`0

John Wychock 3b`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Dom Sartini p`2`0`0`0`0`0`0

Brian Markowski 1b`3`0`0`1`0`0`0

Abhay Metgud cf`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Jake Gallagher rf`2`0`0`0`0`0`0

Ethan Markowski ph`1`0`0`0`0`0`0


Tunkhannock`030`012`0`- 6

Mountain Post-A`000`001`0`- 1


Sherry (W)`5`1`0`0`2`2

Ty Weiss`2`0`1`1`2`1

Mountain Post-A`IP`H`R`ER`BB`SO

Sartini (L)`5.1`6`6`6`1`1


Swoyersville 6, Back Mountain 2

C.J. Yakimowicz allowed four hits and two runs, while striking out five in seven innings of work as Swoyersville defeated Back Mountain.

Evan McCue led Swoyersville with two hits, two RBI and one run, while Joe Pechulis added two hits, including a double, one RBI and two runs.

Nick Oley and Dylan Pilger recorded a hit and an RBI apiece for Back Mountain in the loss.


Jeremy Sabecky cf`3`1`1`0`1`0`0

Dan Flaherty ph`1`0`0`0`0`0`0

Nick Hogan lf`2`1`1`0`1`0`0

Mike Leonard ss`4`1`1`2`0`0`0

Joe Pechulis 3b`4`2`2`1`1`0`0

C.J. Yakimowicz p`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Matt Zielen dh`3`0`1`0`0`0`0

Frank Brodi dh`1`0`0`0`0`0`0

Evan McCue 1b`2`1`2`2`0`0`0

Matt Labashosky 2b`3`0`1`1`1`0`0

Ricky Stayer rf`2`0`0`0`0`0`0

Brandon Reyes c`3`0`0`0`0`0`0


Back Mountain`AB`R`H`BI`2B`3B`HR

Nigel Stearns cf`3`1`0`0`0`0`0

Deep Patel ss`3`1`1`0`0`0`0

Greg Petorak 1b`2`0`0`0`0`0`0

Nick Oley 3b-lf`2`0`1`1`0`0`0

Dylan Pilger c`3`0`1`1`0`0`0

Lee Eckert dh`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

Pat Condo p-3b`0`0`0`0`0`0`0

Kyle Baker rf`3`0`0`0`0`0`0

C.J. Carey 2b`3`0`1`0`0`0`0

Ryan Martin lf`1`0`0`0`0`0`0

Josh Orlandini 3b-p`1`0`0`0`0`0`0


Swoyersville`113`010`0`- 6

Back Mountain`200`000`0`- 2


Yakimowicz (W)`7.0`4`2`2`3`5

Back Mountain`IP`H`R`ER`BB`SO

Condo (L)`6.0`9`6`6`2`4


WVC coaches name all-stars

Wyoming Valley Conference baseball coaches met recently to select their 2013 all-star teams.

The coaches picked 18 first-team all-stars from Division 1 and Division 2 for one team and then 14 players from Division 3 to form another.

Hanover Area’s Mickey Ferrence won MVP honors.


First-team position players: Nick Hogan (WVW), Josh Razvillas (PA), Eric Kerr (HR), Brian Stepniak (DAL), Greg Petorak (DAL), Josh Featherman (COU), Jordan Faux (TUN), Josh McClain (TUN), T.J. Lashock (BER), Joey Favata (BER), Drew Munisteri (CRE), Bart Chupka (WA), Joe Baran (HAZ), Sal Biasi (HAZ)

First-team pitchers: Dan Flaherty (WVW), Jake Granteed (WA), Kyle Miller (BER), Clay DeNoia (BER)

Honorable mentions: Joe Pechulis (WVW), Mike Schwab (PA), Jeremy Worlinsky (HR), Nigel Stearns (DAL), Kyle Lupas (COU), Ty Weiss (TUN), Tony Melito (BER), Brian Markowski (CRE), Trent Grove (WA), Tony Hernandez (HAZ), Jeff Carter (LL).


MVP: Mickey Ferrence (HAN)

First Team: Morgan Higgs (NAN), Joe Olszyk (NAN), Charlie Karchner (MMI), Gavin Gaglardi (SEM), Mickey Ferrence (HAN), Mike Blazaskie (HAN), Mike Sulcoski (HAN), Nick Deno (HAN), Zach Kollar (HAN), Kevin Evans (GAR), Matt DeMarco (MEY), C.J. Szafran (MEY), Wil Amesbury (MEY), Kevin Volkel (NW)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com