Saturday, July 26, 2014


October 26. 2013 12:43PM

By -

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

Wyoming Area’s Nick O’Brien was only the second player to twice receive the Carmello Falcone Memorial Most Valuable Player Trophy when he was tabbed for the award last year.

O’Brien’s performance in 2010 and 2012 put him alongside Wyoming Area’s Jim Pizano, who won the award in 1991 and 1993.

This year, the field seems a little more wide open. And, most likely, it will come from the ground game.

Pittston Area’s Kyle Gattuso and Wyoming Area’s Jeff Skursky carry the respective loads for each team on the ground. Skursky has had huge games for the Warriors, including a performance in which he scored touchdowns on three straight carries earlier this season.

Gattuso, on the other hand, is more of a finesse back. The Pittston Area junior has eclipsed 100 yards a few times this season and is also a threat out of the backfield.

But can a defensive player win it? Absolutely.

Wyoming Area’s Tyler Resciniti could factor into the equation and so can Skursky, who plays linebacker for the Warriors. Hassan Maxwell and Michael Schwab always seem to be around the football for the Patriots.

Pittston Area enjoys throwing the ball a little more than Wyoming Area so James Emmett also has a chance at the 2013 award. Only time will tell.

Previous winners

1978 – Charlie McDermott, WA

1979 – Mike Sobeski, PA

1980 – Gary Dolhan, WA

1981 – Mark Sickler, WA

1982 – Jamie Kutzer, WA

1983 – Nick Biscontini, PA

1984 – Leo Malsky, WA

1985 – Ken Scalpi, PA

1986 – Tom Musto, PA

1987 – J.R. Richards, PA

1988 – Greg Dolhan, WA

1989 – Charlie Kabalka, PA

1990 – John Nocito, WA

1991 – Jim Pizano, WA

1992 – Jamie Kudrako, WA

1993 – Jim Pizano, WA

1994 – Mike Owens, PA

1995 – Tony Scatena, WA

1996 – Ben Kopka, WA

1997 – B.J. Stelacone, WA

1998 – Rich Musinski, WA

1999 – Kevin Shotwell, PA

2000 – Jim Norris, PA

2001 – Matt Williams, WA

2002 – Matt Pizano, PA

2003 – Tony Avvisato, PA

2004 – Gennaro Zangardi, PA

2005 – Ryan McDonnel, WA

2006 – Tyler Serbin, WA

2007 – Nick Bellanco, WA

2008 – Sam Parente, PA

2009 – Chris Price, PA

2010 – Nick O’Brien, WA

2011 – Anthony Haughton, PA

2012 – Nick O’Brien, WA

comments powered by Disqus Commenting Guidelines
Mortgage Minute

Search for New & Used Cars

Used New All

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just the home you want!

Search Times Leader Classifieds to find just what you need!

Search Pet Classifieds
Dogs Cats Other Animals

Social Media/RSS
Times Leader on Twitter
Times Leader on Youtube
Times Leader on Google+
The Times Leader on Tumblr
The Times Leader on Pinterest
Times Leader RSS Feeds