Last updated: August 31. 2013 11:36PM - 1242 Views
ROBERT MINER For The Times Leader

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

DALLAS — The highly anticipated match up of two of the top runners in the state — Tessa Barrett of Abington Heights and Regan Rome of Dallas — never happened in the Cliff Robbins Memorial Cross Country Races on Saturday at Letterkenny Fields.

Rome never ran — due to a groin injury.

So Barrett, a senior, scored an easy victory in the Girls Varsity 5K, finishing with a record time, 17 minutes and 26 seconds. She outran second-place finisher, Kaelyn Heineke, a senior from Council Rock North, by better than 2:30.

“I missed having Regan to run against,” said Barrett. “She’s such a great competitor — she pushes me and makes me run faster.”

It didn’t appear that Barrett needed anyone to push her Saturday.

She actually shattered Rome’s course record of 19:07, set last year when Rome defeated Barrett by 35 seconds. But Barrett came on strong later in the season last year, defeating Rome in the 3200 meter run at districts and at states.

While the battle between Barrett and Rome never developed, the battle of the two Doms from Dallas did.

Dom DeLuca, a senior, won the Boys Varsity 5K in 16:46, outrunning his teammate, sophomore sensation Dom Hockenbury, by 11 seconds.

“Originally, I thought I’d go out conservative,” said DeLuca. “But once I saw the pace (early in the race), I realized I had to go — and set the pace.”

“I wished he had (gone out conservative), said Hockenbury. “I tried to stay with him at the beginning but… I began closing on him near the end of the race but… There’s work to be done. There’s lots more races.”

Wyoming Valley West eighth grader Jacob Kobusky scored a wire-to-wire victory in the Boys Junior Varsity 3K, finishing in 11:13. He held off second-place finisher, Franklin Cunningham, an eighth grader from Hazleton Area, who finished 11 seconds behind.

“I went out fast right from the start,” said Kobusky. “I just kept increasing my lead little by little. And I worked the downhills really hard, taking longer strides.”

Lexi Walsh, an eighth grader from Holy Cross, won the Girls Junior Varsity 3K, finishing in 12:15. She outran second-place finisher, Karli Moyer, an eighth grader from Northeast Bradford, by 47 seconds.

“I broke away from the rest of the field about a quarter of a mile into the race going up the hill,” said Walsh. “Then I ran as best as I could the rest of the way.”

Note: Runners from 27 schools — from as far away as Bucks County and Wyalusing — competed.

Wyoming Valley Striders 39th annual Cliff Robbins Sr. Memorial High School Invitational Cross Country Races results

Race No. 1. Girls Junior Varsity 3K

Top 25 trophy winners

1. Lexi Walsh, 8th grade, Holy Cross, 12:15

2. Karli Moyer, 8th, NE Bradford, 13:02

3. Anna Brier, 8th, Holy Cross, 13:10

4. Krysten Chaga, 8th, Lake-Lehman, 13:14

5. Abby Sempa, 7th, Holy Cross, 13:17

6. Stephanie Yanochko, 8th, Hazleton, 13:18

7. Ava Baur, 7th, Lake-Lehman, 13:18

8. Katie Retzbach, Fr, Lakeland, 13:28

9. Allison Walsh, 8th, Holy Cross, 13:31

10. Jade Fry, 8th, Lake-Lehman, 13:34

11. Skyla Wilson, 8th, Susquehanna, 13:35

12. Sarah Myers, 7th, Hazleton, 13:46

13. Ella Brown, 8th, NE Bradford, 13:47

14. Olivia Pisarski, 8th, Valley View, 13:58

15. Erica Pica, 7th, Holy Cross, 14:01

16. Santina Burak, 8th, Valley View, 14:02

17. Emma Marion, 8th, Abington Heights, 14:03

18. Stephanie Chaga, 7th, Lake-Lehman, 14:06

19. Krista Hallett, 7th, NE Bradford, 14:06

20. Nicole Welsch, Fr, Valley View, 14:09

21. Addison Orzel, 8th, Wyoming, 14:11

22. Katie Shea, 8th, Scranton, 14:14

23. Atlee Houser, Fr, Riverside, 14:15

24. Rebecca Balara, 8th, Dallas, 14:18

25. Annie Wesolowski, Fr, Abington Heights, 14:21

Field: 132 finishers.

Race No. 2. Boys Junior Varsity 3K

Top 25 Trophy winners

1. Jacob Kobusky, 8th, Valley West, 11:13

2. Franklin Cunningham, 8th, Hazleton, 11:24

3. Ryan Steiner, 8th, Hazleton, 11:33

4. Matt Hindmarsh, Fr, Wyoming, 11:34

5. AJ Sluko, Fr, Scranton Prep, 11:37

6. Thomas Kerrigan, 8th, Abington Heights, 11:40

7. Noah Donahue, Fr, Riverside, 11:41

8. Aaron Boss, 8th, NE Bradford, 11:47

9. Jack Zandecki, Fr, Dallas, 11:48

10. Louis Rosetti, Fr, Valley View, 11:49

11. Adam Borton, 8th, Dallas, 11:50

12. Nate Mosier, 8th, NE Bradford, 11:51

13. Mitch Rome, 7th, Dallas, 11:53

14. Tarquinius McGurrin, Fr, Scranton Prep, 11:54

15. Ron Sepkoski, Fr, Solomon, 11:57

16. Bryce Zapusek, 7th, Holy Redeemer, 11:58

17. John Savage, 8th, Scranton, 12:00

18. Tyler Devonshire, 8th, NE Bradford, 12:00

19. Josh Jarden, 8th, Dallas, 12:03

20. Jay Bittner, 8th, Dallas, 12:04

21. Josh Wyandt, 8th, Dallas, 12:05

22. Joe Healey, Fr, Scranton Prep, 12:06

23. Stephen Postupak, 7th, Dallas, 12:07

24. Kyle Burke, 8th, Abington Heights, 12:10

25. Cameron Jordan, 8th, Scranton, 12:15

Field: 153 finishers.

Race No. 3. Girls Varsity 5K

Top 25 trophy winners

1. Tessa Barrett, Sr, Abington Heights, 17:26

2. Kaelyn Heineke, Sr, Council Rock North, 20:00

3. Tara Johnson, Soph, Pittston, 20:11

4. Tess Kearns, Jr, Holy Cross, 20:19

5. Lindsey Oremus, Jr, Dallas, 20:20

6. Bryanna Dissinger, Sr, Dallas, 20:21

7. Ally Rome, Soph, Dallas, 20:46

8. Mackenzie Greenfield, Soph, Holy Cross, 20:51

9. Nicole Buehrle, Jr, Hazleton, 20:52

10. Lydia Werner, Soph, NE Bradford, 20:53

11. Natalie Guarna, Sr, Council Rock North, 21:02

12. Zoe Haggerty, Soph, Holy Cross, 21:02

13. Angela Marchetti, Sr, Hazleton, 21:11

14. Jenn Burke, Sr, Abington Heights, 21:11

15. Mickie Kaminski, Sr, Hanover, 21:12

16. Brooke Estadt, Fr, Lakeland, 21:14

17. Taylor Campbell, Sr, Council Rock North, 21:14

18. Claire Traweek, Soph, Abington Heights, 21:20

19. Cassie Papp, Sr, Hazleton, 21:26

20. Nicki Vanthuyne, Sr, Council Rock North, 21:30

21. Allison Kachel, Sr, Crestwood, 21:40

22. Alex Keller, Sr, Council Rock North, 21:42

23. Alanna’s Trombetta, Sr, Wy. Seminary, 21:42

24. Erin Jaeger, Sr, Abington Heights, 21:45

25. Katie Mullen, Fr, Council Rock North, 21:49

Field: 173 finishers.

Race No. 4. Boys Varsity 5K

Top 25 trophy winners

1. Dom DeLuca, Sr, Dallas, 16:46

2. Dom Hockenbury, Soph, Dallas, 16:57

3. Nate Morgan, Jr, Lakeland, 17:07

4. Kyle Perry, Jr, Scranton Prep, 17:24

5. Levi Upham, Soph, NE Bradford, 17:27

6. Pat Feeney, Sr, Scranton Prep, 17:31

7. Dave Sadvary, Jr, Coughlin, 17:38

8. Cameron Gill, Jr, Holy Redeemer, 17:40

9. Travis Mattson, Sr, Dallas, 17:44

10. Derek Allabaugh, Jr, NE Bradford, 17:44

11. Zamien Benditt-Parkes, Jr, Wyalusing, 17:48

12. Vinay Murthy, Sr, Holy Redeemer, 17:54

13. Bryce Mattson, Sr, Dallas, 17:55

14. Mark Arzie, Jr, Lakeland, 17:56

15. Kyle Borland, Sr, Dallas, 17:57

16. Jacob Ross, Jr, Abington Heights, 17:59

17. Brandon Chackon, Sr, Holy Redeemer, 17:59

18. Ben Sullivan, Jr, Scranton Prep, 18:03

19. Ryan Burke, Jr, Scranton Prep, 18:03

20. Nick McGuire, Jr, Crestwood, 18:05

21. Brandon Devonshire, Sr, NE Bradford, 18:05

22. Matt Murray, Dunmore, 18:11

23. Jason Heidi, Jr, Valley View, 18:11

24. Mike Lewis, Jr, Northwest, 18:12

25. Mike Harvilla, Jr, Pittston, 18:21

Field: 222 finishers

Official starter: Joe Curry. Timing and results: Runner’s High (www.runhigh.com). Back up timer: Vince P. Wojnar. Meet director: Vince A. Wojnar. Meet director’s assistant: Linda Wojnar. Race directors: Don Grose and Stewart Harry.


Saturday, Sept. 19: Scranton Race for the Cure 5K at 8:15 a.m. At Courthouse Square, downtown Scranton. Info: 969-6072.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com