Last updated: May 07. 2014 12:36PM - 1284 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Keystone College’s athletic department held its annual Athletic Awards and Senior Banquet on April 29, honoring individuals and teams for academic and athletic excellence, sportsmanship, as well as recognizing all of the Giants’ senior student-athletes.

KateLynn Strickler and Lymbel Guerrero were honored as Keystonian Award recipients while Samantha Littleford and Dany O’Rourke were honored as recipients of the N. Scott Thurston Academic Award.

The Keystonian Award is presented each year to the most outstanding male and female Keystone student-athletes for their athletic performances during their season of competition.

The N. Scott Thurston Academic Award, which is presented annually to both a male and female student-athlete for combined academic and athletic excellence. To be considered for this award, a student-athlete must have completed 60 credit hours or more, must hold a minimum, 3.20 cumulative grade point average, and must make significant contributions to his or her team.

Keystone honored the following individuals who were recognized by the Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC) for their exemplary sportsmanship and dedication and were named to the CSAC All-Sportsmanship Team for their respective sports:

Katie Jackson – Women’s Tennis

Louis Rizo – Men’s Soccer

Ashley Smith – Women’s Soccer

Shannon Robinson – Field Hockey

Shelby Morgan - Volleyball

Jeremy Stonier – Men’s Cross Country

Shannon Vairo – Women’s Cross Country

Alex Smith – Men’s Basketball

Jerica Rode – Women’s Basketball

Michael Hull – Men’s Tennis

Alexander Farese – Men’s Golf

Lindsey Bucklaw – Softball

Dr. Robert Perkins, Vice President for Student Affairs, recognized the following individuals for achieving a 4.0 GPA in the Fall 2013 semester:

Steve Aniska – Baseball – Senior – Biology

Rob Blanc – Baseball – Senior – Sport and Recreation Management

Tiana Genetti - Women’s Cross Country/Softball – Sophomore - Sport and Recreation Management and Psychology

Matt Lewis – Men’s Golf – Junior – Information Technology

Samantha Littleford - Women’s Soccer – Senior – Psychology

Jackie Nat – Volleyball/Women’s Track and Field – Junior – Communications

Shannon Robinson – Field Hockey – Senior – Psychology and Criminal Justice

Abraham Shagoury – Men’s Tennis – Senior – Sport and Recreation Management

Keystone’s women’s cross country team, coached by Mike Badway, was recognized with the Team Academic Excellence Award, which is presented to the varsity team with the highest combined grade point average. The team posted a department-best, 3.24 GPA in the fall semester.

Keystone College Athletic Director Dr. Matthew Grimaldi presented the 2013-14 Keystone Coaches Sportsmanship Award to softball coach Renee Barrows for being an exemplary role model, both on and off the field, as a coach.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com