Last Modified: February 19. 2013 2:33PM
Such a call usually sets of a Frankenstorm of emotions from a team that feels like it just got ripped off.
But that wasn't the case on Sunday when Phil Dupuis' apparent game-tying goal against Hershey was disallowed by referee Darcy Burchell.
Burchell reviewed the goal on video, ruled that it was kicked in by Dupuis and the Penguins lost 3-2.
But afterward, in the Penguins locker room, Dupuis was pointing fingers.
He wasn't even feeling cheated.
The truth prevailed.
I kicked it in with my skate, for sure Dupuis said, without hesitation. It was the right call.
Instead of being tied 2-2, the Penguins remained down 2-1 and Hershey scored a third goal less than two minutes later.
At the midway point, Trevor Smith earned a cross-checking major and a game misconduct, and that about wrapped things up.
By the way, nobody questioned the call on Smith either.
Eric Tangradi's power play goal later in the period drew the Penguins within one, but Hershey held strong to go on to win.
- Head coach John Hynes used Alex Grant as a forward briefly during Sunday's game, and he didn't look out of place skating up. In fact, Grant cruised into the low slot and got off a nice backhand shot, creating a scoring chance as a forward. Considering the team is loaded with offensively-gifted defensemen - Grant among them, it's not a bad idea to use him as a forward. Last season Grant scored 10 goals and 37 points. He has a ton of offensive talent, so why not play him where it can be utilized instead of letting it go to waste as a healthy scratch.