Last updated: February 16. 2013 7:41PM - 535 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Pittston Area School District was awarded a Safe Schools Targeted Grant from the state. The funds will be used to implement the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program in grades 9-12 in the fall. The program is a research-based program designed to prevent and reduce bullying throughout the school setting. A Bulling Prevention Coordinating Committee, consisting of administration, teachers, guidance and members of the Student Assistance Program (SAP), participated in a two-day training session conducted by Olweus trainers Charles Balogh and Krista Goodman. Members of the Coordinating Committee, from left, first row, are Marlene Verdine, Jennifer Alaimo, Balogh, Goodman, Amy Hazlet, Kim Collins and Tara Craig. Second row: Janet Donovan, principal of curriculum (K-12); John Haas, principal; Adam Burdett; Frank Victor; Jay Rowan; Coreen Milazzo; Judy Greenwald; Paul McGarry; Jim Blaskiewicz; James Woodall; and Arthur Savokinas, assistant principal.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Wilkes-Barre Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com