WVC boys basketball stars selected

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Wyoming Valley Conference boys basketball coaches selected their all-star teams this past weekend for all three divisions.

Crestwood senior guard Cole Wasco was named the Division I MVP. GAR guard Seth Callahan and Nanticoke guard Scott Stout were selected co-MVPs of Division II. Holy Redeemer guard Darius Washington and Meyers guard Shahee Aurelus were chosen as co-MVPs in Division III.

The Times Leader All-WVC team will be announced at a future date.

Wasco helped Crestwood win the Division I title by averaging 15.9 points, fourth highest in the division. Callahan averaged 13.1 points in divisional play and led Division II champion GAR in steals. Stout averaged 12.8 points and was one of the conference’s top defenders.

Washington paced Division III champion Redeemer with 17.6 points per game. Aurelus tied for the Division III scoring title, averaging 18.1 points.

Selected as the top coaches were: Crestwood’s Mark Atherton, Division I; GAR’s Paul Brown, Division II; and Holy Redeemer’s Paul Guido, Division III.

Here are the all-star selections:

Division I First Team: Cole Wasco, Crestwood; Bobby Planutis, Hazleton Area; Austin Yanora, Tunkhannock; Tyler McGarry, Pittston Area; Tyler Evans, Berwick; Jason Dotzel, Crestwood.

Division I Second Team: Jose Rivera, Coughlin; Mike Makuta, Hazleton Area; Sean Judge, Wyoming Valley West; Tony Maloney, Tunkhannock; Jason Dotzel, Crestwood.

Division I Honorable Mention: Robbie Hopkins, Crestwood; Tyler Yankosky, Wyoming Valley West; Chris Panzarella, Hazleton Area; Gian Harris, Berwick; Melvin Robinson, Coughlin.

Division II First Team: Seth Callahan, GAR; Scott Stout, Nanticoke; Jake Barber, Hanover Area; Greg Skrepenak Jr., GAR; Jeremy Zezza, Wyoming Area, Mike Symeon, Lake-Lehman; Brent Piontkowski, Nanticoke.

Division II Second Team: Connor McGovern, Lake-Lehman; Dajon Rush, GAR; David Torres, Hanover Area; Evan Musto, Wyoming Area; Tony Marcincavage, Hanover Area.

Division II Honorable Mention: Matt Winters, Nanticoke, Bob Kerestes, Hanover Area; Nigebo Francis, GAR; Brian Devine, Lake-Lehman.

Division III First Team: Darius Washington, Holy Redeemer; Shahee Aurelus, Meyers; Len Radziak, Holy Redeemer; Cory Rogers, MMI Prep; Patrick Ganter, Wyoming Seminary.

Division III Second Team: Ryan Wasley, Meyers; John Carr, Holy Redeemer; Aaron Raughley, Wyoming Seminary, Mitch Stepanski, Northwest; Jerry Busch, Holy Redeemer.

Senior all-star game rosters selected

The rosters were also set for the annual 46th Dr. George P. Moses Senior All-Star Classic. The game will be played at 8 p.m. Friday, March 27, at Holy Redeemer High School. The girls game starts at 6:30 p.m.

Team Moses will consist of: Damian Clark, Coughlin; Allen Fell, Dallas; Seth Callahan, Nigebo Francis and Greg Skrepenak Jr., GAR; Mike Makuta and Chris Panzarella, Hazleton Area; Shahee Aurelus, Meyers; Cory Rogers, MMI Prep; Matt Winters, Nanticoke; Michael Delaney and Tyler McGarry, Pittston Area; Evan Musto and Jeremy Zezza, Wyoming Area; Aaron Raughley, Wyoming Seminary.

Team Grant players are: Gian Harris, Berwick; Jason Dotzel and Cole Wasco, Crestwood; Jake Barber, Bob Kerestes, Tony Marcincavage and David Torres, Hanover Area; Jerry Busch, Len Radziak and Darius Washington, Holy Redeemer; Brian Devine asd Mike Symeon, Lake-Lehman; Mitch Stepanski, Northwest; Austin Yanora, Tunkhannock.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com